Latitude 2008

Hi there Internet

How’s it going?

I’ve just got back from Latitude 2008 in Southwold “the heart of Suffolk”. It was actually closer to a place called Wangford but I don’t think it would have had the same poetic ring to it.

Had an absolutely amazing time there. I arrived on the Friday afternoon and was down to play the bbc introducing stage (ie: the lake stage) at 7.30pm. Well…it should have been renamed the bbc intimidating stage as it was massive….and there were loads of people there. The stage must have been one of the best placed in the festival as it was right in the middle and everyone had to walk past it to get to the other stages/away from them. This meant there was a huge passing business potential.

I set up my tent (the pop up kind – we’ll be hearing about this in more detail as i describe how to fold it away) and went on my way to the backstage bit….and yes…before you ask. I had a dressing room…so yeah…let’s say I’ve finally made it. inside said room was a sofa and a pot plant from ikea, some drinks, mirror, and some sweets….absolutely none of the crack i asked for in my rider…I know we were some distance from camden, but it could have been flown in by helicopter or something with an equally high carbon footprint.

So the time arrived for me to perform and I did so. It went well and I believe I even saw some people dancing out the corner of my eye.

After playing it was such a relief to have my nerves calmed and therefore enjoy the rest of my time there.

I must just say that I saw the tail end of Errors set and they sounded fantastic. I’m definitely going to be buying their album.

Day two got off to a good start as the heavens opened whilst queing for a coffee. God must be a tea drinker. (note to self: must use that line in a song….possibly about god and his drinking habits…maybe with a reggae beat?)

Saw Sebastien Tellier who was brilliant even though he only had time to perform four songs. not really sure why that was, but there were a few french gesticulations in the direction of the stage manager. After a bit of a break we (me and my posse) went to watch aforementioned posse’s friend Miles Jupp in the comedy tent. fantastic comedian so check him out. Stayed on to watch Rich Hall who made it look all too easy.

Finishing off the night was a double bill of Elbow followed by Sigur Ros. Now…I’ve never seen elbow play live before, but my manager has been raving about it ever since I met him. And he was right. a truly stunning performance from the most underrated band in britain. Sigur Ros was just something else. equally as good but in a completely different way.

day three (the third and final day) was a corker. (note to self: you can’t get away with using corker in a sentence…never try again). Joanna Newsom, Sam Isaac, Luke Leighford, Midnight Juggernauts, the cocknbullkid and the wave pictures all sounded great. but the icing on the cake was seeing Rod Thomas perform his best set ever. Definitely the festival highlight from me and my posse.

The evening was rounded off nicely with a Caribbean goat curry and dancing to the Moshi Moshi Djs. 

A great time was had by all.

thanks Latitude! (although next time make the programmes cheaper…punters have already paid to come and see the bands…the least you could do is let them know when they’re on.)

Word

James

 

Oh yes…the tent….well to cut a long story short…we struggled to fold it up until a kind fellow came to our aid.

One Response to Latitude 2008

  1. aliex says:

    i can’t believe Rod Thomas played there too…. i so bloody wish we could have come down. I LOVE ROD THOMAS.. oh it would have been nice to see you too. You’d better be better at SGP.. see you there…no wait see you for mexican times x

Leave a Reply

