In The Studio

in the studio, originally uploaded by jamesyuill.

yes, hello all

as the subject proclaims. I am in the studio this week…well…pretty much until I head off to India (25th). And as the picture suggests. the studio is in fact my bedroom. not very tidy, but i seem to have more instruments than space.

this is also not posed…i swear. I went off to make a coffee…which you can see on the table next to the bottle of water and saw a sight which reminded me of when i recorded turning down water for air. I did take a similar picture at the time, which was on the inside cover of the originally self released copies. the difference being the mac book pro on my makeshift desk instead of an ibook (as the original mac was stolen soon after the picture was taken).

So why am I recording you ask.

I’ll tell you.

I wish it was because I am working on a new album, but alas, it is not. I am working on a remix album of turning down water for air. I say remix…but it’s actually taking the electronic tracks and making them acoustic, and vis-versa.

There are many reasons why I am doing this. Firstly, it is too soon to release a new album. Secondly, the album is still yet to come out in europe (9th January 2009). and thirdly, America sometime next year. these will also be accompanied by tours of the respective areas.

I have also done a couple of remixes which i shall post up here if it’s cool with them.

Firstly, a track called Here Before by Headless Heroes. a beautiful tune with a very simplistic yet catchy melody. and Secondly Whitechapel by my good friend Blue Rose Code. I believe it comes out on the 1st December…wonderfully talented singer/songwriter. Scottish Soul I believe he calls it.

anyway…hope everyone’s well

cheers

james

2 Responses to In The Studio

  1. Barrington says:

    It’d be ace to hear those remixes, if you can post them!

  2. Robin Seamer says:

    James – So do the new versions get a UK release as well ??

    That table looks a bit cluttered !

    Oh by the way, I’m counting down my Top 10 albums of the year on my blog, one a day for the next 10 days, and i’ve just posted up the number 8 album. Think you may be a trifle familiar with it !

Leave a Reply

