The Road

 

the road to zurich, originally uploaded by jamesyuill.

Hello friends,

I know I’ve been away for a while…and this blog is mostly about why. You see I’ve been travelling all over the place. Gigging. Not sure whether you could call it a world tour just yet, but it was pretty close.

So I’m now writing this blog on my first proper free day in what feels like ages. Yes. I have a cup of tea next to me, some rich tea biscuits to my right and Deadmau5 on the stereo. All the ingredients needed for an ‘admin’ day.

I would be doing music on a day like today but my mac book pro’s keyboard and trackpad have decided to pack up. In fact they stopped working in the sound-check for my Fabric show on the 1st May. Had to ad lib with an external usb mouse. Not a major disruption, but as i use all my usb ports for midi controllers it meant starting the set and then quickly swapping over the mouse for a controller…not ideal.

So here’s a list of all the places I’ve been. They’re not all the gigs I’ve done this year though. I’ve set this lot apart because they’re pretty much a straight run. A neat package if you will.

This is how my diary reads:

5th April – Fly to New York
6th April – Gig @ Mercury Lounge
7th April – Gig @ EMI Publishing’s Office (lunchtime)
Gig @ Coco 66, Brooklyn
8th April – Fly from New York to Los Angeles via San Francisco
9th April – Gig @ Nettwerk’s LA Office (6pm)
Gig @ Five Star Bar
10th April – Gig @ The Echo
11th April – Gig @ KCRW Radioactive @ Park Plaza Hotel
12th April – Fly back to London
13th April – Arrive back in London
14th April – DAY OFF
15th April – Fly to Paris
Gig @ Cafe De La Danse, Paris
16th April – Fly to Dusseldorf
Gig @ Gebaude 9, Cologne
17th April – Gig @ Glanz Und Gloria, Osnabruck
18th April – Gig @ The Tower, Bremen
19th April – Gig @ Prinzenbar, Hamburg
20th April – Gig @ Cafe Central, Weinheim
21st April – Acoustic Radio Session for Radio Eins
Acoustic Radio Session for Ego FM
PhotoShoot (can’t remember who for!)
Gig @ Atomic Cafe, Munich
22nd April – Acoustic Radio Session
Gig @ Live At Dot, Berlin
23rd April – Fly back to London.
Gig @ Hoxton Bar and Kitchen with Phoenix (they cancelled just before I sound-checked.)
24th April – Gig @ Camden Crawl @ Enterprise
25th April – Lauren Lavern Session for 6Music
Gig @ Camden Crawl @ The Electric Ballroom
26th April – Fly to Geneva, Switzerland
Gig @ Blue Lezard, Lausanne
27th April – Gig @ Abart, Zurich
28th April – Fly back to London
29th April – DAY OFF
30th April – Fly to Amsterdam, Holland
Gig @ Paradiso
1st May – Fly back to London
Gig @ Fabric
2nd May – Gig @ Live At Leeds

And that brings us up to date. I think the most amazing place I’ve been to recently has got to be Lausanne in Switzerland. It’s absolutely stunning. We drove from Geneva airport to venue and then the next day to Zurich and the scenery was so beautiful.

I must admit I was shattered last night, but that was mainly because I’d driven the round trip up to leeds and back…about 8 and a bit hours on the road.

Off to Sweden and Norway on the 6th. This is how the future runs:

6th May – Gig @ Babel, Malmo, Sweden
7th May – Gig @ Garage, Oslo, Norway
8th May – Gig @ Vasagatan 43, Gothenburg, Sweden
9th May – Gig @ Debaser Slussen, Stockholm, Sweden
14th May – Gig @ The Lexington (Special night with my friends)
15th May – Gig @ The Great Escape @ Audio, Brighton (lunchtime)
Gig @ The Great Escape @ Po Na Na, Brighton (evening)
18th May – Gig @ Cactus Club, Brugge, Belgium
20th May – Gig @ The Glass House, Pomona, CA (Supporting M83)
21st May – Gig @ Belly Up Tavern, Solana Beach, CA (Supporting M83)
23rd May – Gig @ Hawthorne Theatre, Portland, OR (Supporting M83)
25th May – Gig @ Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver, BC (Supporting M83)
27th May – Gig @ Mezzanine, San Francisco, CA (Supporting M83)

Yeah…M83! I can’t wait. (if people don’t have their recent album Saturdays = Youth, you should go out and get it. It’s brilliant.)

Leave a Reply

