Sample Me Up Mofo!



Sample Me Up Mofo!, originally uploaded by jamesyuill.

Hello!

so I’ve decided to do a little experiment/musical project involving…well…you! If you want.

It’s a simple idea…probably been done before (plus I know it’s kind of like Matthew Herbert’s Mission Statement thing)…but basically; I want you to send me a short audio sample. The sample must be 5 seconds or less for example banging a pot, shouting at your neighbour or silently flipping your parents the bird (ideally with some noise going on in the background).

you see. I’m going to write a tune with all your samples.

a few rules

1.) I’d like it to be as analogue as possible…so don’t just send me the contents of your sample library from a future music cover mount dvd!

2.) no snippets of actual songs

3.) can’t be more than 5 seconds long…don’t want my inbox crashing

4.) please don’t send me any riffs or melodies. I want this to be as hard as possible.

5.) lastly, by sending me the samples you’re going to waive any-kind of rights you have…so another reason not to send me any killer riffs or melodies as you’re probably going to want to use these in your own music.

I will be keeping note of the samples I use, who they came from and what I did to them, so when the track is done I can name check you guys personally. (so when you do send me a sample, please write your name and where you come from i.e.: James Yuill, London, England or Peter Potato, Tokyo, Japan)

Please send the samples to me at

samplemeup@jamesyuill.com

many thanks!

(oh and if you know anyone who would love to send me shiz then please let them know)

9 Responses to Sample Me Up Mofo!

  1. Suzanne Espener says:

    I got plenty noise of me being pissed off at the David Gray concert @ thetford forest.. Wow I was hounded as I have a “professional camera”
    Love your music this sweet love and no surprise.. GENIUS!

  2. […] “Turning Down Water For Air”. Für einen hat er sich da etwas spezielles erdacht, wie er nun über seinen Blog erklärte. Er sammelt bis zu 5 Sekunden lange Samples von seinen Fans und macht daraus einen Song, wie das […]

  3. Lewis says:

    Got some random bus noise for you if you wannit.

  4. Steve Lawson says:

    Bass noises coming ASAP, sir! looking forward to it 🙂

  5. James (Fentiger) says:

    Just sent you a email James…

    Looking forward to hearing the finished result!

  6. Kyle b. says:

    this sounds sweet.

    i think im going to send you some skateboarding sounds from videos ive shot…

Leave a Reply

